On Remembrance

I’d like to take a moment to re-blog this post from last year, about my Remembrance Day trip to the Vimy Ridge Memorial.

I went again this year, but I don’t know if I’ll finish a new post in time. There seems to be a lot more talk this year about the role Remembrance Day plays in our collective consciousness. People have begun asking questions of that suitability, and I’m struggling to form my own opinion on the debate while overseas in Germany, which gives a person an interesting perspective on it all.

Tylor in Trier

First, a caveat: What follows is a lengthy and rambling thought piece on what Remembrance Day means to me, with specific reference to the impact of my current location and context on that. For most people this will likely be very boring. Nevertheless, I feel it’s important to think about and share thoughts on a day like this. If you’re just interested in what I’ve been up to, the following will likely suffice: I went to the Vimy Ridge Memorial with my travel companions on the way back from Belgium to Trier. It was cold, rainy, and above all, moving. I’m glad I got the experience.

I promise I’ll try to write shorter and more entertaining posts in the future. Like I said though, I think this one is important.

Now, if you’re still with me, I’ll go on with the boring stuff!

View original post 1,339 more words

About supertylor

British Columbian 20-something spending a(nother) year in Trier, Germany.
This entry was posted in Canada, Culture, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

