Safe and Sound in Trier

Just a quick note to let everyone who cares know that I’ve arrived safe and sound in Trier after being awake for nearly 30 hours.

After a few whirl-wind days in Powell River (where we managed to hold a garage sale AND finish most of my errands associated with leaving the country, including figuring out my MSP details – apparently I wasn’t technically covered for our hike in Strathcona), I set off for Sechelt where I met up with Andrew and Patrick for some kayaking.

Andrew and Patrick before launching our kayaks in Pender Harbour

We borrowed some of Patrick’s family’s kayaks (they have a modest flotilla) and spent four and a half hours exploring the area around Pender Harbour, investigating boats and identifying potential archaeological sites. This was a much needed dose of the coast before I leave for the next four months!

After kayaking Andrew and I returned to Vancouver. We had anticipated catching the 5.45 ferry from Langdale, but to our surprise there was also a 4.45 boat just as we arrived. Success!

No issues arose at all during the flight over, and I was impressed with Lufthansa after flying with Air Transat to London/Frankfurt last time.

As always, I wasn’t hassled at the border (unlike going to England!), and I was through customs so quickly that I managed to catch a train a few hours earlier than anticipated.

Because I took the earlier train option, when I transferred at Koblenz I wound up on the milk-run Regional Bahn service to Trier. The “RB” line along the Mosel takes longer as it stops at every little station and town, unlike the much speedier Regional-Express or InterCity service along the same route. There is no high speed InterCity Express service through the valley, as the track has too many twists and turns.

This longer train journey allowed me some time to sit and enjoy the still familiar scenery of the Eifel and Hunsrück!

About supertylor

British Columbian 20-something spending a(nother) year in Trier, Germany.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

